Padma awards 2016 Winner List:Vinod Rai, actor Rajinikanth, spiritual guru Sri Sri Ravishankar and tennis player Sania Mirza are on the list of 113 Padma awardees whose names were announced on Monday by the government.The awards will be given across three categories: the Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri. The Padma Vibhushan will also be given to dancer Yamini Krishnamurthy, media baron Ramoji Rao and former Jammu and Kashmir governor Jagmohan.

Padma awards 2016 Winner List

Among the long list of winners, the ones being honored for their contributions to cinema include Rajinikanth, Anupam Kher, Udit Narayan, Ajay Devgn and Priyanka Chopra. Rajinikanth is being declared Padma Vibhushan, Kher and Narayan are awarded Padma Bhushan while Priyanka and Devgn are being bestowed with Padma Shri.Other prominent names from the list include, spiritual leader Sri Sri Ravi Shankar (Vibhushan), classical singer Girija Devi (Vibhushan), the late Dhirubhai Ambani (Vibhushan) and adman Piyush Pandey (Shri).

Padma awards 2016 Winner List Declared Rajinikanth, Vinod Rai, Sania Mirza honoured

Padma awards 2016 Winner List declared

Delighted by the news, Kher Tweeted, “Happy, Humbled & Honoured to share that i have been awarded The PADMA BHUSHAN by the Govt. of India. Greatest news of my life:) #JaiHind.”

Meanwhile, superstar Rajinikanth will be conferred the Padma Vibhushan. Yamini Krishnamurthi, Girija Devi, Ramoji Rao, Art of Living guru Sri Sri Ravi Shankar and Dr Viswanathan Shanta are the other Padma Vibhushan winners.

The Padma Vibhushan has also been posthumously conferred upon Dhirubhai Ambani.

Senior lawyer Ujjwal Nikam, actors Ajay Devgn and Priyanka Chopra will be awarded the Padma Shri this year.

The awards seek to recognise work of distinction and are given for distinguished and exceptional achievements, service in all fields of activities, disciplines such as art, literature and education, sports, medicine, social work, science and engineering, public affairs, civil service, trade and industry.

Nominations are sent in a prescribed proforma available in the website of the Home Ministry along with citation (maximum in 800 words). All persons, except government servants, without distinction of race, occupation, position or sex are eligible for these awards.

It is the usual practice to invite nominations every year from all state governments, Union territories, ministries, departments of the central government. Nominations can be made by Union ministers, Chief Ministers, Governors and Members of Parliament. A self nomination is also acceptable.

The nominations are placed before the Padma Awards Committee, constituted by the Prime Minister every year.

Nominations may be sent to the Union Home Minister or Union Home Secretary to their offices in North Block in New Delhi.