Sushil Kumar recommended for Padma Bhushan

Sushil Kumar was Two-time Olympic medal winner. He has been nominated for India’s third-highest honour that is Padma Bhushan by the Wrestling Federation of India. This news was reported by Chandigarh Tribune. The parent body has also forwarded Sushil’s coach Yashvir Singh’s name. The Federation has also recommended female wrestler Alka Tomar and Dronacharya awarder Yashvir Singh, for the honour. Sushil is India’s lone individual performer to have won a medal in successive Olympics. He won a bronze medal in 2008 Beijing Olympics and a silver medal in 2012 London Olympics.

Wrestler Sushil Kumar nominated for Padma Bhushan


However, he missed out on Rio 2016 when he was injury out of the qualifying event. And fellow wrestler Narsingh Yadav was given the nod. But with the emergence of Narsingh’s doping scandal, the relations between Sushil and the WFI turned sour. Sushil was considered for the honour two years back but was snubbed. He later raised his voice against the policy makers about his contributions. The government was being negligent to “He is the only double Olympic medallist in the country. He can’t understand the reason behind not getting the Padma Bhushan”. There should be some criteria for getting such an award. Leander Paes and Gopichand have got the award as they are senior sportsperson than me.

He does not pay much attention to such things, it goes on his life but government should have taken into account performance and achievement along with seniority. Sushil had told Headlines Today in January 2014. Tomar is a former bronze medallist. He is Senior Wrestling Championship in Guangzhou in China 2006. He was a recipient of the Arjuna Award in 2007 but hasn’t been in news of late. She won a gold medal at the 2010 Commonwealth Games in Delhi. She also won 15-time world billiards and snooker world champion Pankaj Advani, along with shooter Jitu Rai and paddler Achanta Sharath Kamal. A former World No. 1, Rai was recently honoured with the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna award along with PV Sindhu, Sakshi Malik and Dipa Karmakar.